Associate status through the Center for East Asian Studies at the University of Chicago is by invitation only.  An associate must be sponsored by a faculty member of CEAS and must work or live in Illinois or a contiguous state.  Associates receive library privileges only, and the courtesy status is renewable on a three-year cycle.  Associate statuses are processed each spring quarter. Email CEAS for more information.


As of July 2, 2021

Christopher Bush, Northwestern University, Department of French & Italian
Liang Cai, University of Notre Dame, Department of History
Angelika Cedzich, DePaul University, Department of Religious Studies
Graham Chamness, Kalamazoo College, Chinese Program
Shiwei Chen, Lake Forest College, Department of History
Meei-shia Chen, National Cheng Kung University, Department of Public Health
Michelle Damian, Monmouth College, Department of History
Helen Doss, Wilbur Wright College, Department of English & Literature
Andrew Eisenberg, Northeastern Illinois University, Department of History
Sonia Gomez, Santa Clara Universty, Department of History 
Mami Hatayama, Curator, The Weston Collection
Laura Hostetler, University of Illinois-Chicago, Department of History
David Andrew Knight, Independent Scholar
Phyllis Lyons, Northwestern University, Asian Languages Program
Gail Mitchell, Kennedy-King College, Department of Communication Design 
Sonja Opper, Bocconi University, Department of Management & Technology
Kevin Ostoyich, Valparaiso University, Department of History
Martin Powers, University of Michigan, Department of Art History 
Catherine Stuer, Denison University, Department of Art History & Visual Culture
John Timothy Wixted, Independent Scholar
Yue Zhang, Valparaiso University, International Studies