Grants, Fellowships and Scholarships: August 10, 2015

We are pleased to announce that the 2015-16 ACLS fellowship competitions are now open. ACLS offers fellowship programs that promote the full spectrum of humanities and humanistic social sciences research and support scholars at the advanced graduate student level through all stages of the academic career. Comprehensive information and eligibility criteria for all programs can be found at

Application deadlines vary by program: 

September 23, 2015 
ACLS Fellowships (the central program) 
ACLS Collaborative Research Fellowships 
Frederick Burkhardt Residential Fellowships for Recently Tenured Scholars (including new opportunities for liberal arts college faculty) 

October 21, 2015 
Luce/ACLS Dissertation Fellowships in American Art 
Mellon/ACLS Dissertation Completion Fellowships 

November 2, 2015 
African Humanities Program 

November 4, 2015 
Luce/ACLS Predissertation-Summer Travel Grants in China Studies 
Luce/ACLS Postdoctoral Fellowships in China Studies 
Luce/ACLS Collaborative Reading-Workshop Grants in China Studies 
Comparative Perspectives on Chinese Culture and Society (grants for planning meetings, workshops, and conferences) 

November 17, 2015 
The Robert H. N. Ho Family Foundation Dissertation Fellowships in Buddhist Studies 
The Robert H. N. Ho Family Foundation Postdoctoral Fellowships in Buddhist Studies 
The Robert H. N. Ho Family Foundation Research Fellowships in Buddhist Studies 
The Robert H. N. Ho Family Foundation Collaborative Research Grants in Buddhist Studies 

March 2016 (date TBA) 
ACLS Public Fellows 

The American Council of Learned Societies is the leading private institution supporting scholars in the humanities. In the 2014-15 competition year, ACLS awarded over $16 million to nearly 350 scholars worldwide. Recent fellows' profiles and research abstracts are available at The 2015-16 season promises to be equally successful!



  The Doctoral Program in Buddhist Studies at the Ludwig-Maximilians-University in Munich, Germany invites applications for two PhD scholarships for dissertation projects related to Buddhism: Deadline for applications:        18 October 2015 Start of scholarship:                 Summer or autumn 2016 Duration of scholarship:           3 or 4 years Scholarship amount:                 €1000 per month + insurance + support for rent + €460 per year Scholarship donor:                   German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD)

The selection process comprises two stages: Applications are sent to the Doctoral Program in Buddhist Studies in Munich. The program will select promising candidates, who then have to submit their materials to the DAAD. Subsequently, an election committee chosen by the DAAD decides upon the successful candidates. It is expected that the successful candidates will be chosen and informed by February 2016.

The prerequisites for application are non-German citizenship (foreign applicants should not have lived in Germany for more than fifteen months at the time of their application), a Master of Arts or Magister Artium degree or equivalent, excellent knowledge of at least one Buddhist source language, outstanding qualifications in the subject, and fluency in English. A basic knowledge of German is also desirable, though not a prerequisite, but willingness to learn German/improve German language skills will be expected. It is desirable that, at the time of the application, the last final examination has taken place no more than six years ago.

For details concerning the application, please visit our homepage:


The Nadel Essay Prize celebrates excellence in ethnographic writing. Ethnographically-based original papers are invited on social and cultural anthropology relating to the Asia Pacific region, including Australia. This annual prize, inaugurated in 2011 to commemorate sixty years of Anthropology at the Australian National University, is named after S.F. Nadel, who was appointed Foundation Professor of Anthropology in 1951.   The Prize The winner of the prize will be announced in January 2016. The winner will receive a prize of $250, a year’s subscription to the journal and promotion on the journal’s website. For the full listing, please visit: